TV: This Is Us – “That Is Us” Moment (Pilgrim Rick)

Television

Season 1, Episode 8 “Pilgrim Rick”

Airdate: November 22, 2016

*** warning this contains spoilers from this week’s episode of This Is Us ***

 

Everyone’s come together for Thanksgiving! This week This Is Us invites us to spend the holidays with the “Big Three” and family. In the past we witness how one particular Thanksgiving ends up being the root cause in being a favourite holiday for one of the triplets. In present day we see Kate make the difficult decision to break off her relationship with Toby, and makes a big announcement in regards to her weight loss journey.

 

The “That Is Us” Moment: Kevin (Justin Harley) makes the genius decision to bring his girlfriend (?), cast mate Olivia (Janet Montgomery), to Thanksgiving diner with his family. Upon realizing what she has gotten herself into, she decides to bail from the feast. But before her Uber driver can come and get her she decides to ask William (Ron Cephas Jones) the ever-tactful question of what it is like to die? Whether she asks this because of her profession as an actress or her general curiosity has a human being we will never know. But I am sure that his answer to her question was one she was not expecting.

William: “It feels like all these beautiful pieces of life are flying around me and I’m trying to catch them. When my granddaughter falls asleep on my lap, I try to catch the feeling of her breathing against me. When I make my son laugh, I try to catch the sound of him laughing. How it rolls up from his chest… But the pieces are moving faster now and I can’t catch them all. I can feel them slipping through my finger tips and soon where they used to be; my granddaughter breathing and my son laughing there will be… nothing. I know if feels like you have all the time in the world, but you don’t. So stop playing it so cool. Catch the moments of your life. Catch them while you’re young and quick, because sooner than you know it, you’ll be old and slow. And there will be no more of them to catch.”

This is an extremely powerful and emotional scene for two reasons. One, you see how William’s relationship with his son has affected his life, how it made it one that he enjoys living and also how much more difficult it is going to be to say goodbye to it when his time comes. And second, he sees how Olivia is throwing her moments away, moments that he would surely give the world just to have a bit more of. But William is never patronizing in this exchange, he’s just being completely honest. And whether Olivia wants to follow is advice is her choice.

 

What do you think? What was you’re favourite part of this week’s episode? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

